Collection ASM0466 - B. Kursunoglu papers

Open original Digital object

Identity elements

Reference code


Name and location of repository

Level of description



B. Kursunoglu papers


  • 1967-1978 (Creation)


12 Boxes

Name of creator

Biographical history

Content and structure elements

Scope and content

Dr. Behram Kursunoglu was the Chairman of the Board for the Center for Theoretical Studies at the University of Miami. The papers consist of letters of communication between Kursunoglu and the professors that lectured at the Center to faculty and students, research plans, video-cassettes and audio-cassettes of the lectures, and publications containing the text of the lectures. Many of the lectures concerned high energy physics, theoretical chemistry, neurosciences, nuclear physics, and issues pertaining to energy problems. Among notable participants were the physicists and Nobel Laureates Albert Einstein, Richard Feynman, Robert Oppenheimer, Francis Crick, and Murray Gell-Mann; the member of the Florida House of Representatives Dante Fascell; and Richard Kennedy, the U.S. Ambassador At Large for Nuclear Energy.

The following is a list of visiting professors that are represented in the collection:

(*=Nobel Laureate

The numbers after the names signify the number of files. )

  • Nikolai Basov, Russian Academy of Sciences, Lebedev Institute

  • Hans A. Bethe, Cornell University

Gregory Breit, Yale University

Nikolai Bogolubov, Soviety Academy of Sciences, Moscow University

  • Walter H. Brattain, Columbia University

Jocelyn Bell Burnell, Cambridge University

H.B.G. Casimir, Phillips, Eindhoven, Netherlands

Britton Chance, University of Pennsylvania

  • Leon Cooper, Brown University

Jean Couture, Former Sec. of Energy for France

  • Francis H.C. Crick, Salk Institute

Richard Dalitz, Oxford University

  • Hans G. Dehmelt, University of Washington

  • Max Delbruck, of California Tech

  • P.A.M. Dirac (16), Cambridge University

Freeman Dyson (2), Institute for Advance Studies, Princeton

  • John C. Eccles, University of Buffalo

  • Gerald Edelman, Rockefeller University, NY

  • Manfred Eigen, Max Planck Institute Gottingen

  • Albert Einstein (2), Institue for Advance Studies, Princeton

  • Richard Feynman, of California Tech

  • Paul Flory, Stanford University

  • Murray Gell-Mann, of California Tech.

  • Donald Glaser, Berkeley, UniversityCal

Thomas Gold, Cornell University

Marvin Goldberger, Princeton University

Gerson Goldhaber, Berkeley, University of California

Maurice Goldhaber, Berkeley, University of California

  • Gerhard Herberg, NRC of Canada

  • Robert Hofstadter, Stanford University

Fred Hoyle, Cambridge University

Erdal Inonu, Ankaro University, Turkey, Currently Foreign Minister of Turkey

Leopold Infeld, Warsaw, Poland

D. Ivanenko, Moscow University

Max Jammer, Bar Ilan University, Israel

Nicolas Kemmer, University Edinburgh

Richard Kennedy, US Ambassador At Large for Nuclear Energy

  • Tjallinq Koopmans, Yale University

Alan D. Krisch, University of Michigan

  • Willis Lamb, Jr. (2), Yale University

Joseph E. Lannutti, Fla. State University

  • Leon Lederman, Ferni Laboratory

Benjamin W. Lee, Ferni Laboratory

J.G. Linhart, ISKRA, Italy

Bernard Lipman (2), Harvard University

Franklin Long, Yale University

Sydney Meshkov, US Bureau of Standards

Elliott Montroll, Rochester University, NY

  • Robert S. Mulliken, University of Chicago

Yoichiro Nambu, University of Chicago

  • Louis Neel, Grenoble University, France

Kazuhiko Nishijima, Chuo University, Japan

  • Lars Onsager, Yale University

Robert Oppenheimer, Former Director of Institute for Advance Studies, and principal architect of the first US atomic bomb

Henry Primakoff(2), University of Pennsylvania

  • A.M. Prokhorov, Russian Academy of Sciences, Lebedev Institute

  • Theodore I. Rabi, Columbia University

George Rathjens, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

  • Norman F. Ramsey, Harvard University

Dixie Lee Ray, Former Governor of the State of Washington, former Chairman of U.S. Atomic Energy Commission

Frederick Reines, University of California, Irvine

Tullio Regge, University Torino, Italy

  • Abdus Salam (3), Director, Int'l Center for Theoretical Physics, Trieste, Italy

Edwin E. Salpeter, Cornell University

  • Arthur Shavlow, Stanford University

  • Julian Schwinger (2), Harvard University

Dennis W. Sciama, Cambridge University

  • Glenn T. Seaborg, Former Chairman of US Atomic Energy Commission

Frederick Seitz, Rockafellar University, Former President of the National Academy of Sciences

Robert Serber, Colombia University

Lord Charles P. Snow (4), distinguished author, London

E.C.G. Sudarshan, University of Texas

Edward Teller (4), Known as the father of the hydrogen bomb

  • Charles H. Townes, University ofCalifornia at Berkeley

Stanislav Ulam, University Colorado

Georges A.Vendryes, One of the principal architects of the Nuclear Energy Program for France

  • George Wald, Harvard University

  • Steven Weinberg, University of Texas

Victor F. Weisskopf, Massachusetts Institue of Technology

John A. Wheeler, Princeton University

  • Eugene P. Wigner (3), Princeton University

  • Kenneth Wilson, Cornell University

Lord Solly Zuckerman, former Chief Scientist to British Government, and distinguished zoologist

Vladimir Zworykin (3), Inventor of TV picture tub, Honorary Vice President of RCA

System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use elements

Conditions governing access

This collection is open for research.

Physical access

This collection is kept in an off-campus storage facility. Please contact Special Collections at with the boxes you are interested in prior to your visit, and allow up to 1 week for delivery of materials.

Technical access

Conditions governing reproduction

B. Kursunoglu papers Finding Aid © 2009 University of Miami. All rights reserved. Requests to reproduce or publish materials from this collection should be directed to

Languages of the material

  • English

Scripts of the material

Language and script notes

Finding aids

Generated finding aid

Acquisition and appraisal elements

Custodial history

Immediate source of acquisition

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling information


Related materials elements

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related archival materials

Related descriptions

Notes element

Specialized notes

Alternative identifier(s)

Description control element

Rules or conventions

Sources used

Access points

Place access points

Digital object metadata





Media type





44.4 KiB


May 18, 2018 3:36 PM

Digital object (Master) rights area

Digital object (Reference) rights area

Digital object (Thumbnail) rights area

Accession area